Patient Reviews

Reviews for Root Canal Therapy Services Near Plano, TX

Filter15 Reviews  
5.0
Review from R.C.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Sep 30, 2020

I have been seeing Dr. Dickson for about 18 months now, after a 10-year leave of absence from visiting ANY dentist. My story and recommendation is long because the backstory is so important to why I recommend Dr. Dickson. To say I was frightened of the “horrendous dental chair” is an understatement. When I was 6 months old, I had scarlet fever and chicken pox at the same time. The treatment for these caused my enamel not to develop; that strong substance that protects your pearly whites, I have none. Dental work began for me as soon as my permanent teeth started coming in. My first cavity was drilled at the age of 5, with little to no numbing. From there, about 20 years in and out of the dentist chairs, every 6 months some new tooth to drill or root canal to be had. I have had veneers two prior times and my last root canal was about 10 years ago. After that, I just quit going. My memories are vivid: pain, discomfort, embarrassment, frustration … I then met Dr. Dickson through mutual friends. After talking with his wife first, she assured me I could do this and Dr. Dickson and his team would help me. First and foremost, his entire staff is AMAZING. They were patient with me as I, full of fear, walked in the office for the first time. The sound of any drills really brings me to my edge, so Lin, ever so quickly, pulled me from the waiting room and hollered to the staff, “Let’s get her comfortable, NOW!” I was sedated for my first cleaning and assessment of what was sure to be a huge project. When I went back for my consult, they made sure to take me quickly to where I couldn’t hear work being done, and Lin and I went over the whole plan. From there, Dr. Dickson restored my teeth in three sessions, all under sedation. He checked on me the evening after each session. The restoration has been life-changing. I have no discomfort, my teeth look natural, I smile fully and get so many compliments. I can really see it in photos!!! More importantly, together, we have pretty much conquered my fear. I have successfully followed up with two more cleanings on schedule, with NO cavities, and have graduated to not needing sedation for cleanings. Suzie is my hygienist and she quickly gets me in my chair and the nitrous started to ease my anxiety, and she lovingly calls it my “cocktail hour.” She always checks with me throughout the cleaning to see where my anxiety level is at. She and Dr. Dickson are kind as we talk through what I need to work on to keep my teeth healthy and beautiful. I have never felt negative about myself or reprimanded walking out of that office, which was so common with dentists before. I walked out on Wednesday after my cleaning and shed some tears. Battling my poor teeth health for so many years, Dr. Dickson and his colleagues have truly helped me make a transition that I never could have done on my own! Thanks Dr. D and staff! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 30, 2019

Excellent office, staff and doctor! Very relaxing for anyone resistant to going to the dentist: friendly, good music or TV. Personally I go for HGTV on mute with their chill Spotify playlist (or Yacht Rock!). 3-year patient with only cleanings until a recent (and fun!) root canal plus cap replacement. All things considered it went very well and everyone took very good care of me. I really like their deal on cleanings too. I have to get one quarterly so it’s nice to get a break. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 30, 2019

Dr. Dickson & the Staff at My Dentist are amazing and make going to the dentist stress and pain free. my very first root canal was done there and I was completely relaxed, they took great care of me! Thank you!! They do everything there it is a one stop place for oral healthcare! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 30, 2019

I had a temporary crown done and about 3 cavities filled. The work was done on both sides of my mouth. I warned Dr. Dickson I take awhile to get numb and I wanted nitrous oxide. I had all that work done. Dr. Dickson and his assistants were GREAT!! I felt no pain. He did not rush. He gave plenty of time for the numbing medicine to work. If a dental appointment can possibly be pleasant, this one was. I will be going back for the crown next week and also to start my Invisalign process. Oh, Dr. Dickson texted me the evening of my dental work to see if I was doing ok. The only misunderstanding was on the payment. I had a Free consultation a few days after my cleaning to discuss all the work that needed to be done. At the end, I was told if I pay upfront I would get a discount. I did not understand that pay upfront meant that day. My thinking was if I paid for crown, fillings and about $3000 worth of Invisalign the day of my appointment. I guess I got pay in full confused with pay a week ahead. Anyway, they worked it out with me. I believe Dr. Dickson and his staff are very professional and well trained. I would certainly recommend them to anyone who might need a dentist. I found him through a new homeowners mailer. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 01, 2019

I am terrified of the dentist so I avoid it at all cost but not anymore. This place is great. I have had sooo much work done here because I finally found a dentist I can trust. I had my first root canal here and it was virtually painless, I had my wisdom teeth taken out here by Dr. Dickson’s associate and everything could not have gone any better. Give this place a shot if you are not satisfied with your current dentist or if you’re in need of one. I’ve told all my family and friends about this place because they are that good. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 30, 2018

Dr. Dickson, his hygienists, and receptionists are professional, attentive, helpful, and kind. There is no place I would rather go than here, because every time I walk into the office, it's a family-like atmosphere. He always greets you with a smile and makes you feel welcome. He even takes the time to call or text his patients either on the day of or the day following a procedure. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ From fillings to root canals to crown 👑 placements and teeth cleaning, Dr. Dickson provides the absolute best dental services while simultaneously catering to the needs of the patient. You know your dentist is amazing when he can perform a root canal with little to no discomfort. 😎 His bedside manner, keen sense of humor, professional demeanor, and truly caring nature makes him #1 He and his entire office staff are like family! If you are searching for a dentist, this is the place to start! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 30, 2018

I have been a patient of Dr. Dickson's since 2015 and in the summer of 2017 I had a tooth crowned and the sensitivity to cold never seemed to subside. Over Christmas one of my relatives had made ice cream and I had to politely decline due to the anticipation of the sensitivity which was not pleasant to endure. Dr. Dickson recommended a root canal (my first one ever!) and while I wasn't thrilled to hear that Dr. Dickson also explained that sensitivity could indicate a larger and more serious problem. I would argue that this is what separates Dr. Dickson from the other dentists who have treated me: he cares enough about my well-being to recommend a procedure so as to relieve the current situation and prevent future problems. I would also add that I have several relatives who have upper and lower dentures and many of my childhood memories visiting those relatives involve seeing them take out their teeth ad lace them in a glass. Needless to say I do not want to reach that point and that is why I am happy to be a patient. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 09, 2018

I have been a patient of Dr. Dickson's since 2015 and in the summer of 2017 I had a tooth crowned (in gold no less!) and the sensitivity to cold never seemed to go away. No I should not have waited almost 7 months to address this issue, because the problem could have been solved much sooner, but I digress. Over the Christmas holidays one of my relatives had made ice cream and I had to politely decline due to the anticipation of the sensitivity to cold which was not pleasant t...o endure and I did not want said relative to think that my grimace from pain was in reaction to the ice cream. At my most recent cleaning and review Dr. Dickson recommended a root canal (my first one ever!) which I found to be terrifying and would recommend a name change for that procedure. Now I like to be informed and Dr. Dickson always takes to address my questions, however ridiculous they may be, he explained that sensitivity could indicate a larger and more serious problem. I'm at fault for waiting this long to address a problem and thankfully I learn from my mistakes and I would argue that this is what separates Dr. Dickson from the other dentists who have treated me: he cares enough about my well-being to recommend a preventative procedure so as to relieve the current situation and prevent future problems. I would also add that I have several relatives who have upper and lower dentures and many of my childhood memories visiting those relatives involve seeing them take out their teeth and place them in a glass. I told one of my cousins that our Uncle Ronnie was turning into a werewolf when he was taking his dentures out. Needless to say I do not want to reach that point, I want all my teeth intact and working correctly and I want to give my teeth the best care possible and that is why I am happy to be a patient. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 09, 2018

I have been a patient of Dr. Dickson's since 2015 and in the summer of 2017 I had a tooth crowned (in gold no less!) and the sensitivity to cold never seemed to go away. No I should not have waited almost 7 months to address this issue, because the problem could have been solved much sooner, but I digress. Over the Christmas holidays one of my relatives had made ice cream and I had to politely decline due to the anticipation of the sensitivity to cold which was not pleasant to endure and I did not want said relative to think that my grimace from pain was in reaction to the ice cream. At my most recent cleaning and review Dr. Dickson recommended a root canal (my first one ever!) which I found… More More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 09, 2018

I have been a patient of Dr. Dickson's since 2015 and in the summer of 2017 I had a tooth crowned (in gold no less!) and the sensitivity to cold never seemed to go away. No I should not have waited almost 7… More months to address this issue, because the problem could have been solved much sooner, but I digress. Over the Christmas holidays one of my relatives had made ice cream and I had to politely decline due to the anticipation of the sensitivity to cold which was not pleasant to endure and I did not want said relative to think that my grimace from pain was in reaction to the ice cream. At my most recent cleaning and review Dr. Dickson recommended a root canal (my first one ever!) which I found… More More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 09, 2018

I have been a patient of Dr. Dickson's since 2015 and in the summer of 2017 I had a tooth crowned (in gold no less!) and the sensitivity to cold never seemed to go away. No I should not have waited almost 7 months to address this issue, because the problem could have been solved much sooner, but I digress. Over the Christmas holidays one of my relatives had made ice cream and I had to politely decline due to the anticipation of the sensitivity to cold which was not pleasant to endure and I did not want said relative to think that my grimace from pain was in reaction to the ice cream. At my most recent cleaning and review Dr. Dickson recommended a root canal (my first one ever!) which I found to be terrifying and would recommend a name change for that procedure. Now I like to be informed and Dr. Dickson always takes to address my questions, however ridiculous they may be, he explained that sensitivity could indicate a larger and more serious problem. I'm at fault for waiting this long to address a problem and thankfully I learn from my mistakes and I would argue that this is what separates Dr. Dickson from the other dentists who have treated me: he cares enough about my well-being to recommend a preventative procedure so as to relieve the current situation and prevent future problems. I would also add that I have several relatives who have upper and lower dentures and many of my childhood memories visiting those relatives involve seeing them take out their teeth and place them in a glass. I told one of my cousins that our Uncle Ronnie was turning into a werewolf when he was taking his dentures out. Needless to say I do not want to reach that point, I want all my teeth intact and working correctly and I want to give my teeth the best care possible and that is why I am happy to be a patient. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 27, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Dickson for about 18 months now. After a 10 year leave of absence from visiting ANY dentist. My story and recommendation is long, because the back story is so important to why I give Dr. Dickson 5 stars. To say I was frightened of the "horrendous dental chair" is an understatement. When I was 6 months old I had scarlet fever and chicken pox at the same time. The treatment for these caused my enamel not to develop. Ya, that strong substance the protects... your pearly whites, I have none. Dental work began for me as soon as my permanent teeth started coming in. My first cavity was drilled at the age of 5, with little to no numbing. From there, about 20 years in and out of dentist chairs, every 6 months some new tooth to drill or root canal to be had. I have had veneers 2 prior times and my last root canal was about 10 years ago after that I just quit going. My memories are vivid: pain, discomfort, embarrassment, frustration... I then met Dr. Dickson through mutual friends. After talking with his wife first, she assured me I could do this and Dr. Dickson and his team would help me. First and foremost, his entire staff is AMAZING. They were patient with me as I, full of fear, walked in the office the first time. The sound of any drills really brings me to my edge so Lin, ever so quickly, pulled me from the waiting room and hollered to the staff, let's get her comfortable NOW! I was sedated for my first cleaning and assessment of what was sure to be a huge project. When I went back for my consult, they made sure to take me quickly to where I couldn't hear work being done and Lin and I went over the whole plan. From there, Dr. Dickson restored my teeth in three long sessions, all under sedation. He checked on me the evening after each session. And,the restoration has been life changing. I have no discomfort, my teeth look natural, I smile fully and get so many compliments. I can really see it in photos!!! More importantly, together, we have pretty much conquered my fear. I have successfully followed up with 2 more cleanings, on scheduled, with NO cavities and have graduated to not needing sedation for cleanings. Suzie is my hygienist and she quickly gets me in my chair and the nitrous started to ease my anxiety and she lovingly calls it my "cocktail hour." She always checks with me throughout the cleaning to see where my anxiety level is at. She and Dr. Dickson are kind as we talk through what I need to work on to keep my teeth healthy and beautiful. I have never felt negative about myself or reprimanded walking out of that office which was so common with dentists before. I walked out on Wednesday after my cleaning and shed some tears. Battling my poor teeth health for so many years, Dr. Dickson and his colleagues have truly helped me make a transition that I never could have done on my own! Thanks Dr. D and staff! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 27, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Dickson for about 18 months now. After a 10 year leave of absence from visiting ANY dentist. My story and recommendation is long, because the back story is so important to why I give Dr. Dickson 5 stars. <br /> To say I was frightened of the "horrendous dental chair" is an understatement. When I was 6 months old I had scarlet fever and chicken pox at the same time. The treatment for these caused my enamel not to develop. Ya, that strong substance the protects your pearly whites, I have none. <br /> Dental work began for me as soon as my permanent teeth started coming in. My first cavity was drilled at the age of 5, with little to no numbing. From there, about 20 years in and out of dentist chairs, every 6 months some new tooth to drill or root canal to be had. I have had veneers 2 prior times and my last root canal was about 10 years ago after that I just quit going. My memories are vivid: pain, discomfort, embarrassment, frustration...<br /> I then met Dr. Dickson through mutual friends. After talking with his wife first, she assured me I could do this and Dr. Dickson and his team would help me. First and foremost, his entire staff is AMAZING. They were patient with me as I, full of fear, walked in the office the first time. The sound of any drills really brings me to my edge so Lin, ever so quickly, pulled me from the waiting room and hollered to the staff, let's get her comfortable NOW! I was sedated for my first cleaning and assessment of what was sure to be a huge project. When I went back for my consult, they made sure to take me quickly to where I couldn't hear work being done and Lin and I went over the whole plan. From there, Dr. Dickson restored my teeth in three long sessions, all under sedation. He checked on me the evening after each session. And,the restoration has been life changing. I have no discomfort, my teeth look natural, I smile fully and get so many compliments. I can really see it in photos!!! More importantly, together, we have pretty much conquered my fear. I have successfully followed up with 2 more cleanings, on scheduled, with NO cavities and have graduated to not needing sedation for cleanings. Suzie is my hygienist and she quickly gets me in my chair and the nitrous started to ease my anxiety and she lovingly calls it my "cocktail hour." She always checks with me throughout the cleaning to see where my anxiety level is at. She and Dr. Dickson are kind as we talk through what I need to work on to keep my teeth healthy and beautiful. I have never felt negative about myself or reprimanded walking out of that office which was so common with dentists before. <br /> I walked out on Wednesday after my cleaning and shed some tears. Battling my poor teeth health for so many years, Dr. Dickson and his colleagues have truly helped me make a transition that I never could have done on my own! <br /> Thanks Dr. D and staff! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.D.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 01, 2013

SIMPLY AMAZING! I hated going to the dentist before, but thats all changed now thanks to Dr. Dickson! I will never step foot in any other dental office. Dr Dickson and his staff are extremely nice and made me feel so comfortable! My hygenist, christina, is so funny and i always have a great laugh when I'm getting my teeth cleaned or worked on! I had my very first root canal done here and I was so scared hearing all the horror stories but honestly, I don't know what all the fuss was about! I guess I was just in great hands! Dr Dickson really put together a great team! From the front desk to the hygienists!! , I really recommend anyone who wants a great dental experience to come here! You won't regret it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.E.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 25, 2012

Although root canal is never fun, the work was done with great professional skill and every effort was made to make me as comfortable as possible More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.

}